What’s Missing?

While doing some study today I learned of the term ‘Freakonomics’. I know, where have I been all this time… blah, blah, blah. It looks interesting, so I’ll do more research on it. However, that’s not the point of my post.

I went to the website (in Chrome) after a Google search, and noticed something… after a while that is.

Tell me, what do you think is missing?

Freakonomics 1

Something that you would ‘normally’ see on the header menu of a site like this. Nothing? Can’t tell me? I didn’t notice it either until I decided that I wanted to know a bit about the back story of these two interesting guys.

Where is the About menu item?

Oh, there it is…

Freakonomics About

What an odd place to put it. White text on a very light grey background. Hmm, but what’s that next to it then…

Freakonomics Experiments

Oh Experiments, cool! This one even changes to green text when hovered over with the mouse. I wonder why that doesn’t happen with the About menu item.

As it turns out, all the header menu items are highlighted in different colours… except for About. I guess having one that doesn’t is cool, but not when it’s the one that may fall off the first line of the header menu.

Being the curious sort that I am I decided to check out IE and Firefox…

Freakonomics IE Firefox

Oh my goodness, would you look at that! Experiments and About menu items fit on the one line in the header menu. After all this time I’ve found something that doesn’t work quite as well in Chrome!

I wonder if I would have even noticed if I had not wanted to know a bit more about them?

What appears to be simple stuff can mean a great deal and cause a significant impact. Think about compatibility and usability people.

Got something to say?

